Categories
Project of paper

The Arrow argument and Zeno’s dialectic

A new interpretation, closer to the original Greek text, of the ‘Flying Arrow’ argument will be proposed. The complex dialectic formed by the 4 arguments concerning motion will be exposed. Source of illustration image: https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Z%C3%A9non_d%27%C3%89l%C3%A9e#/media/Fichier:Zeno_of_Elea_Tibaldi_or_Carducci_Escorial.jpg

Categories
Other info

My first peer-review (in HPS)

This summer, I had the pleasant surprise of being contacted by the editor of the “Journal for General Philosophy of Science” asking me if I would be willing to review a manuscript dealing with one of the Zenon paradoxes. I did not at all expect to be (already) solicited for this kind of activity since […]

Categories
Other info

First quotation of my 1st article

This is not a fresh piece of information since I had noticed it in September 2019 (that is to say before the creation of this site): the first quote of my article on Zeno’s motion paradoxes can be found in a book… of math!! It is in the ‘Notable Writings’ section of the book ‘The […]

Categories
Blogging

Self-publishing of a collaborative scientific book

I very modestly contributed (by providing the cover photo free of charge) to a collaborative scientific work edited by my best friend (and two of these colleagues); that of course concerns her area of expertise (phylogenetics) and the joyful particularity of this work is that it did without a ‘classic’ scientific editor; it is therefore […]

Categories
Blogging

Writing history of my first article

Thus, 6 years will have passed between the idea of exploring the possible link between Zeno’s paradoxes and thermal motion and the final acceptance of the article resulting from this idea. It’s certainly rather long, but it should be remembered that I was starting from almost nothing (i.e. that I had a big bibliographical research […]

Categories
Other info

My current research project and my approach

In one sentence: First, make ‘fictional’ epistemology in order to propose, in a second time, new unexpected basics for fundamental/theoretical physics. In a little more detail: My current research project in epistemology is based on the following working hypothesis: Could the problems encountered by current fundamental/theoretical physics have their origin in implicit (or ‘forgotten’) assumptions […]

Categories
Project of paper

Classical Mechanics and States of Motion

The philosophical (even metaphysical) consequences of the position defended in my first article, thus the philosophical problems posed by the notion of ‘instantaneous velocity’ in the framework of classical physics will be examined, and a solution will be proposed. A first version of this article, entitled “In Defense of the Unavoidable Existence of States of […]

Categories
Oral communication

“Illusion and Disillusionment” Study Day

UPDATE 05/05/20 : the scientific events being cancelled “until further notice” at the Sorbonne, this study day is also cancelled My participation proposal was selected for the “Illusion and Disillusionment” Study Day on June 16, 2020 organized by the Philo’Doctes association more info here (french) : http://philo-doctes.paris-sorbonne.fr/spip.php?article236 Source of illustration image: http://www.sorbonne-universite.fr/universite

Categories
Project of paper

History of mathematics and Zeno’s paradoxes

Draft article in response to the article “When Science Confronts Philosophy: Three Case Studies” by Eric Dietrich: https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10516-019-09472-9. It seems to me that including the case of the paradoxes of Zeno is not really wise compared to my own work (which E. Dietrich does not seem to have read) Connections between mathematics and the paradoxes […]

Categories
Oral communication

HiPhiS 2020 Seminar – Montpellier

I am happy to have had the opportunity to present part of my research work during the conference on March 3 of the HiPhiS 2020 seminar cycle more info here (french) : https://epistemologie.umontpellier.fr/hiphis/conferences.html#4634 The main content of this presentation comes largely from my first article (Foundations of Science 2018) to which was added results from […]

Catégories
Projet d'article

L’argument de la flèche et la dialectique de Zénon

Une nouvelle interprétation, plus proche du texte grec initial, de l’argument de la ‘Flèche en vol’ sera proposée. La dialectique complexe que forment les 4 arguments concernant le mouvement sera exposée. Source de l’image d’illustration : https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Z%C3%A9non_d%27%C3%89l%C3%A9e#/media/Fichier:Zeno_of_Elea_Tibaldi_or_Carducci_Escorial.jpg

Catégories
Autre info

Ma première peer-review (en HPS)

Cet été, j’ai eu la bonne surprise d’être contacté par l’éditeur du “Journal for General Philosophy of Science” me demandant si j’acceptais de faire une review d’un manuscrit traitant d’un des paradoxes de Zénon. Je ne m’attendais pas du tout à être (déjà) sollicité pour ce type d’activité étant donné que je n’ai pour l’instant […]

Catégories
Autre info

Première citation de mon 1èr article

Ce n’est pas une info de toute fraîcheur puisque je m’en étais aperçu en septembre 2019 (soit avant la création de ce site) : la première citation de mon article sur les paradoxes du mouvement de Zénon se trouve dans un livre… de math !! C’est dans la section ‘Notable Writings’ du livre ‘The Best […]

Catégories
Blog

Publication d’un ouvrage scientifique collaboratif auto-édité

J’ai très modestement contribué (en fournissant gracieusement la photo de couverture) à un ouvrage scientifique collaboratif édité par ma meilleure amie (et deux de ces collègues); ça concerne bien entendu son domaine d’expertise (la phylogénétique) et la joyeuse particularité de cet ouvrage est de s’être passé d’un éditeur scientifique ‘classique’; il est donc en accès […]

Catégories
Blog

Historique de rédaction de mon premier article

Il se sera donc passé 6 ans entre l’idée d’explorer le lien éventuel entre les paradoxes de Zénon et l’agitation thermique et l’acceptation finale de l’article résultant de cette idée. C’est certes plutôt long, mais il faut rappeler que je partais de presque rien (c.-à-d. que j’avais une grosse recherche bibliographique à faire), que je […]

Catégories
Autre info

Mon projet de recherche actuel et ma démarche

En une phrase : D’abord, faire de l’épistémologie ‘fictionnelle’, pour ensuite proposer des nouvelles bases inattendues à la physique fondamentale/théorique. En un peu plus détaillé : Mon projet de recherche actuel en épistémologie est basé sur l’hypothèse de travail suivante: Est-ce que les problèmes rencontrés par la physique fondamentale/théorique actuelle pourraient avoir comme origine des hypothèses implicites (ou ‘oubliées’) […]

Catégories
Projet d'article

Mécanique classique et états de mouvement

Les conséquences philosophiques (voire métaphysiques) de la position défendu dans mon premier article, ainsi les problèmes philosophiques posés par la notion de ‘vitesse instantanée’ dans le cadre de la physique classique seront examinés, et une solution sera proposée. Une première version de cet article, intitulée “In Defense of the Unavoidable Existence of States of Motion”, […]

Catégories
Communication orale

Journée d’études « Illusion et désillusion »

MAJ 05/05/20 : les événements scientifiques étant annulés “jusqu’à nouvel ordre” en Sorbonne, cette journée d’étude est aussi annulée Ma proposition de participation a été sélectionnée pour la Journée d’études « Illusion et désillusion » du 16 juin 2020 organisée par l’association Philo’Doctes + d’info ici : http://philo-doctes.paris-sorbonne.fr/spip.php?article236 Source de l’image d’illustration : http://www.sorbonne-universite.fr/universite

Catégories
Projet d'article

Histoire des mathématiques et les paradoxes de Zénon

Projet d’article en réaction à l’article “When Science Confronts Philosophy: Three Case Studies” de Eric Dietrich : https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10516-019-09472-9. Il me semble que inclure le cas les paradoxes de Zénon n’est pas vraiment judicieux en regard de mes propres travaux (que E. Dietrich ne semble pas avoir lu) La relation entre les mathématiques et les paradoxes […]

Catégories
Communication orale

Séminaire HiPhiS 2020 – Montpellier

Je suis heureux d’avoir eu la possibilité d’exposer une partie de mes travaux de recherche lors de la conférence du 3 mars dernier du cycle du séminaire HiPhis 2020 + d’info ici : https://epistemologie.umontpellier.fr/hiphis/conferences.html#4634 Le contenu principal de cette présentation est largement issu de mon premier article (Foundations of Science 2018) auquel à été ajouté […]